Old Convict Road Orford – Walk

Beginning immediately after crossing the bridge at Orford, the Old Convict Road trail follows the northern side of the Prosser River for 1km. This flat and easily accessible trail highlights rugged examples of Convict manual labour and structural ingenuity. Build between 1841 and 1855, this stretch of terraced road was used to service the Probation Station in Buckland now in ruins at the end of the track.
Taking no longer than ond hour to complete, this walk is a worthy addition to other local day walks such as the Three Thumbs Track.

Contact Details

1 Tasman Hwy
Orford, 7190

Visit Website

Sign up to our newsletter

Join us and be the first to hear about exclusive deals, insider travel tips, competitions and events.

© East Coast Tasmania Tourism

The Tasmanian tourism industry acknowledges the Tasmanian Aboriginal people and their enduring custodianship of lutruwita / Tasmania. We honour 40,000 years of uninterrupted care, protection and belonging to these islands, before the invasion and colonisation of European settlement. As a tourism industry that welcomes visitors to these lands, we acknowledge our responsibility to represent to our visitors Tasmania's deep and complex history, fully, respectfully and truthfully. We acknowledge the Aboriginal people who continue to care for this country today. We pay our respects to their elders, past and present. We honour their stories, songs, art, and culture, and their aspirations for the future of their people and these lands. We respectfully ask that tourism be a part of that future.